The Commission is charged with the enforcement of Nebraska’s campaign finance laws, its lobbying laws and its conflict of interest laws. To view the Nebraska Political Accountability and Disclosure Act, Rules and Regulations, and our Advisory Opinions digest, please see the section About Us.
Late Filing Fees
Many reports and statements which must be filed with the Commission are subject to late filing fees. In most cases, the late filing fees are $25 for each day the statement remains not filed, not to exceed $750 per statement. Late fees are assessed by operation of law and require no action by the Commission.
An individual who believes there has been a violation of the Nebraska Political Accountability and Disclosure Act may file a formal complaint with the Commission. Anyone wishing to file a complaint should contact: General Counsel at 402-471-2522. Anonymous complaints are not accepted.
- Formal complaint filed with Commission.
- Complaint reviewed to determine if alleged facts could constitute a violation of the Nebraska Political Accountability and Disclosure Act (NPADA). If the complaint is unclear, the complainant will be given an opportunity to amend the complaint. A complaint which does not allege a violation of the NPADA will be dismissed.
- The respondent (the accused person) is provided with a copy of the complaint.
- A Commission investigator conducts an investigation and a written report is prepared for the Commission.
- The Commission, based upon the report, determines if there is probable cause to believe that the violation has occurred and that there is sufficient evidence to reasonably believe the Respondent could be found to have violated the NPADA. If not, the matter is dismissed. If probable cause and sufficient evidence are found, the matter is scheduled for a hearing. The hearing is an administrative hearing which is normally held before a hearing officer. The respondent is notified of the time and place of the hearing.
- At the hearing evidence is presented by the Commission attorney. The respondent or an attorney for the respondent has the right to present evidence at the hearing.
- After the hearing, the Commission determines if there has been a violation of the NPADA. If it finds no violation, the matter is dismissed. If it finds a violation, it may: a) assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000 per violation; b) order the filing of certain reports or documents as required by the NPADA; c) enter a cease and desist order.
- Decisions of the Commission may be appealed by the respondent to the appropriate state district court.
Commission proceedings and records relating to a complaint are confidential unless the Commission issues an order finding that the respondent has violated the NPADA. Also, the respondent may notify the Commission in writing that he or she wants the matter to be made public.